January Sharky Awards

In my ever-evolving quest to recognize the books that I read and enjoy (but without writing reviews (because I am terrible at that)), I give out awards that highlight some of my favorite things about the books I’ve read over the past month. And since my bookmark is a shark – a bookshark, if you will – I call them the Sharkys. And here is a picture of how I feel about not getting to read more books this month:

Now on to the awards!

Best Motivation To Get Up And Go Out For A Run And Enjoy The Nature Of Our Beautiful Planet, For Heaven’s Sake:
Across the Universe, by Beth Revis
I don’t know if any of you have recently been cryogenically frozen for a couple of centuries, but let me tell you – it can give you a major case of cabin fever. Or…I don’t know, ice block fever. I can think of nothing better than the thought of being trapped in suspended animation, unable to move, with nothing but your thoughts to occupy you, to inspire the mother of all fun runs. No wonder the first thing our kickass heroine Amy does after being thawed is go for a jog. But even then, it’s still on a rotten spaceship! No trees, no sunsets, no fresh air, no danger of stepping in dog poo! THAT POOR SPACE KID.

Best Weapons:
Day and June from Legend, by Marie Lu
Actually, I had originally awarded this to the Republic’s electro-bombs, because I’d say anything that can disable all guns in a half-mile radius for two solid minutes definitely earns the title of being “handy-dandy”. But then I thought about it a little more, and you know what? If I were trapped in a room with either of these geniuses, I’d be shitting myself, because damn those two are scary-good at what they do.

Speediest Read:
The Death Cure, by James Dashner
I read this book in two days. It would have been one, if I didn’t have to “work” and “sleep” and “eat”. Never mind the fact that it’s been out for months, and I practically started gnawing the pages when I finally got my grubby paws on them. I just had to know how it all ended – were they sent to the moon? Were they Cylons all along? Was WICKED secretly run by the cast of a blockbuster Broadway musical? I MUST KNOW THESE THINGS.

Best Bang(s) For Your Buck:
Too Close To Miss, by John Perich
This book is the adult-thriller cruise ship adrift in my sea of YA, as the author is a friend and I needed a small break from the trials and tribulations of all those poor stressed-out teenagers.  The story starts with a bang, and ends with several more bangs.  I banged it out in no time. And at only a dollar, it’s a lot of bang for not a lot of cash. Spoiler alert: there might be a murder or two.

Best Robo-buddy:
Iko, from Cinder, by Marissa Meyer (fellow Apocalypsie!)
Iko, you’re adorable. I picture you as sort of like Eve from WALL-E, but with more lipstick smeared across your bulbous white head. I want you to follow me around my house as I do pointless things, and I want you to deliver delightful quips about those pointless things. I don’t know if you can handle the steps up to my porch, but I will toss you if I must. We can make this happen.

Most Creative:
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, by Ransom Riggs
It’s not often that I wake up in the morning and say to myself, “What I’d love to do today is peruse some haunting photographic evidence of centuries-old children whose creepy dead eyes can see right down into the very depths of my soul, and I would like to do it in the form of a highly imaginative story that features both time travel and adult diapers,” but this month, I did. Fortunately for me, this book exists.

This entry was posted in Sharky Awards and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to January Sharky Awards

  1. KatieHal says:

    I also read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Children recently–it was quite good! And not what I expected, although I’m not sure what I expected. I do expect the pictures are even better to enjoy in a hard copy than on a Nook screen, though.

  2. I LOVE IKO. I love her. I think she should win ALL the Sharkys. Miss Peregrine is next on my to-read list!

  3. hrose2931 says:

    I have Cinder and Miss Peregrine to read but I absolutely loved Across The Universe! Now, you have to read the sequel!! A Million Suns is just as fabulous! I think you did pretty good with the number of books you read!

    Heather

Leave a Reply

