November Sharky Awards

In my ever-evolving quest to recognize the books that I read and enjoy (but without writing reviews (because I am terrible at that)), I’m going to give out some awards highlighting some of my favorite things about the books I’ve read over the past month. And since my bookmark is a shark – a bookshark, if you will – I will call them the Sharkys. And to commemorate this auspicious occasion, here is a photo of the elusive Hallway Shark:

For more hilarious animals that don’t belong in hallways, check out this gallery.

And now for the awards, in the order in which I read the books (minor spoilers ahead, but nothing earth-shattering):

Best Line:
“What a strange world this was, that I could come here to lose everything about myself, and instead lose everything but me. It was possible that I’d thrown one too many Molotov cocktails over God’s fence.”  – Maggie Stiefvater, Forever
I adore the visual on this. I imagine God shaking a rolling pin at Cole and yelling “Get off my lawn, you rotten international rock sensation!”

The Max Collins Memorial Award for Keeping Eve 6 Alive And Relevant:
Tabloid Decoys, band front Shift by Jeri Smith-Ready
I was obsessed with Eve 6 in high school, and still am, at least whenever they randomly decide to release an album (they’re allegedly putting one together now…I don’t dare to hope). I thought everyone else forgot about them as soon as the nineties/early 00’s were over, but then here comes a tribute in the form of the Tabloid Decoys, poking Eve 6 up out of the mists of obscurity. So thank you, Jeri. Thank you.

Best Use of Italian Food as a Weapon:
Dumping lasagna over the head of a slimy ex-boyfriend, by Anya from All These Things I’ve Done, by Gabrielle Zevin
As a full-blooded Italian, I am well aware of just how dangerous pasta can be. Our family reunions usually end in pools of blood and marinara. But even I don’t have the balls to wield the dreaded lasagna, and that’s where the astoundingly awesome Anya steps up to the plate. Girl has a serious pair.

Severed Head I Most Want To Be Friends With:
Brooke from Hold Me Closer, Necromancer, by Lish McBride
That sort of says it all, doesn’t it? And she even comes with her own bowling bag carrying case, so you’re getting friendship and convenience. Win-win, really.

The Fight Club Award For Making Me Want to Immediately Reread From The Beginning In The Hopes of Finding Dropped Hints Along the Way:
Daughter of Smoke and Bone, by Laini Taylor
This book killed me in just about every way a person can be killed, so I’m not sure I could withstand another read, at least not right at this moment. I’m still tender and bruised, and coping with the irresistible desire to dye my hair blue and move to Prague. But at some point in the future, I’m damn well going to reread, if for no other reason than to try and figure out how in the hell Laini Taylor wrote the thing. Can we be sure she didn’t just wish it into existence? Has anyone searched her house for gavriels? I’m just saying.

Okay, that’s it. More Sharkys next month. Oh, and remember to stop back here tomorrow for the big YA Scavenger Hunt. Now get off my lawn!

2 comments

  1. Gina, thanks for the Sharky! (I love that, by the way.) The husband of my Twitter followers works with Eve 6 in some capacity, and he says he showed SHIFT to them and they were really psyched! *passes out* Anyway, the new album is coming out this winter or spring. Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

