Scavenger Hunt winners, my eternal gratitude, dead folk

GUYS. The YA Scavenger Hunt was such a success, I can’t even use the word success as it’s normally used. It was a sucCESS! SuCCess! SucSESAME STREET!

Uh, yeah. Anyway, it rocked. I met a ton of lovely authors, and even more wonderful YA fans. Thank you so, so much for all of your enthusiasm and excitement about Croak. We’re besties for life now.

Congratulations to — well, first, of all, to the lucky winner of the entire YA Scavenger Hunt, Sandra Lin, who will be receiving a veritable library of new books. We’re all super jealous and will be raiding her home shortly.

And now for my own contest. To guarantee fairness, my husband oversaw the drawing and can verify that it the winners were indeed drawn at random. Will?

Will: “I can verify that.”

Thanks. Also, a whopping four out of the eight winners are from Wisconsin. If that’s not random, I don’t know what is. (And it greatly pleases me to know that so many new fans are in the vicinity of vast amounts of cheese.)

So. The winners of the ARC of Croak are…

Keri N.
Sarah M.@ The Book Life

And the winners of the scythe pendants are:

Erica H. @ The Book Cellar
Ashley A.
Stephanie T.
Jenelle R. @ Midnight Book Thief
Samantha R.
Zoey T. @ Zoey’s Uncreatively Titled Blog -who was not picked at random, but rather won a pendant because Abe Lincoln was her favorite dead celebrity, and he is the first to make an appearance in Croak. And also, I love him.

And speaking of dead guys, you guys were all over the map when it came to your favorites. We had a bunch of writers – Laura Ingalls Wilder, Jane Austen, Shel Silverstein, Charlotte Bronte, Dr. Seuss, Roald Dahl – which isn’t surprising. A few musicians – Bob Marley, Left Eye, John Lennon – and a few comedians – Chris Farley, Lucielle Ball – and actors – Brittany Murphy and Patrick Swayze. Albert Einstein got a shout-out, as well as two beloved Steves – Jobs and Irwin. And a lot of you are classic movie fans – there was much love for Gene Kelly, Audrey Hepburn, Katherine Hepburn, Cary Grant, and especially Marilyn Monroe.

Many of you are still pining for the King, Elvis Presley, and even more miss the other King (of Pop), Michael Jackson. But by a landslide, the most beloved and missed celebrity was Heath Ledger, and who can argue with that? Not me. I can practically recite A Knight’s Tale from memory.

You might be wondering why I asked such a morbid question. Well, a big part of Croak has to do with the Afterlife, and like our buddy Honest Abe, many random dead folks pop up in the story. So be sure to look out for some of your favorites in the book! (Not Heath though. Too soon, man, too soon.)

Thanks again to everyone who entered!

2 comments

  1. Well, all of those celebrities deserve it. I hate myself for missing one of the greats, though: Dianna Wynn Jones. :,(
    I love your blog, Gina! (Ignore the fact that I discovered it when I was doing the Scav Hunt.) Are you by any chance planning on opening a Blogger? (I’m not big on the email subscription thingies.)
    I can’t wait for Croak!

    Peace, Love, Life, and Death,
    ~R, a new fan ;)

    • No plans to move to Blogger, unfortunately. However, if you don’t want to subscribe by email, I usually post the links to all my blog posts on my Facebook and Twitter pages, so if you follow either of those you should be kept in the loop. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

