I Want My Hat Back

Today is my two-year wedding anniversary. How do I know that? Because there’s a massive chunk of wedding cake currently defrosting in my refrigerator. (I know, I know, we were supposed to eat it a year ago, but space issues arose and it ended up sitting in my parents’ freezer for a good long while. Great story there.)

Today I planned on recapping the anniversary trip that we went on this weekend, but due a very disruptive yet very amazing morning (the results of which I will announce in due time, but for now you’ll have to live with the spoiler that it is Exciting News), I have run behind on uploading photos. So instead, I’ll share what I gave Will as a gift.

A while back we were perusing the ole children’s book section of the internet, because even though we are grown-ass adults, we have a combined emotional maturity that can’t be much more than that of a parrot that can recognize simple shapes and colors. It was then that we first stumbled upon the delightfully dry and hilarious book by Jon Klassen, I Want My Hat Back. The story, as you might imagine, is about a bear who has lost his hat. And – prepare yourself for the surprise – he wants it back.

So we bought the book, devoured it, laughed ourselves silly, and then devoured it again, in that oh-so-classic tale of two college graduates unabashedly guffawing over a book written for six-year-olds. I have since purchased the same book for my sister (who has one more advanced degree than I do), and then yes, we finally caved and bought one for an actual human child.

The point is, we seriously love this book. And before you could say “Peter Pan syndrome”, my passions for yarn, crocheting, and passive-agressive bears all dovetailed nicely into a fun new project: making a bear for Will. It came out pretty well, I think:

And here’s one for the You-Can’t-Make-This-Stuff-Up file: I also made the bear’s hat, but guess what? WE LOST IT. I’m sure I’ll eventually get around to making a new one, but in the meantime I suppose the bear will just have to interrogate everyone in our house in order to find it. Heck, maybe I’ll crochet the rest of the book’s woodland creatures so he won’t have to bother the cats too much. They get cranky.

6 comments

  1. This is so cute! I really hope I find someone who will laugh and read children’s books with me one day. And i love that you actually lost the hat haha. You should make a little thought bubble to hang over the bear that says I Want My Hat Back.

    Happy anniversary!

  2. I love this book! I really want to buy a copy but since I work in waterstone’s I can’t quite face purchasing it from people that I work with…as I am 20 and childless and therefore have no excuse I can use! That bear is incredibly cute too!

  3. Happy Anniversary…sounds like you found the perfect man…not too serious and fun! Don’t feel bad about the cake…we never ate ours! It was in my mom’s freezer and she took one bite on our wedding anniversary and threw it away (ICKY)! LOL!

Leave a Reply

