July Sharky Awards

In my ever-evolving quest to recognize the books that I read and enjoy (but without writing reviews (because I am terrible at that)), I give out awards that highlight some of my favorite things about the books I’ve read over the past month. And since my bookmark is a shark – a bookshark, if you will – I call them the Sharkys. And here is a picture of a shark who looks a little confused about being a shark.

“I thought I signed up to be a bear…”

Click on the book covers to go to the authors’ websites. Now on to the awards!
*denotes fellow Apocalypsie

Best Meta-Line, or Line From The Book That Best Describes My Own Feelings Toward Said Book
Code Name Verity, by Elizabeth Wein

“It’s like being in love, discovering your best friend.”

The best friend, in this case, being this amazing book, with which I want to have several sleepovers, exchange a BFF bracelet, and spend a summer backpacking through Australia. And this is of course in addition to me wanting to be best friends with its main characters, a pair of kickass girls–a pilot and a spy–who wreak a bit of havoc both in World War II and IN MY HEART.

Last Line Most Likely To Give You Goosebumps
The Cabinet of Earths, by Anne Nesbet*
Not that the rest of this book isn’t creative, fantastic, a whirlwind of whimsy that makes you feel as if you’ve been transported to a particularly magical pocket of Paris. Not that you won’t love the wildly imaginative plot, the quirky characters, or the fact that some of those characters are based on real historical figures. But when the significance of one thing that’s referenced throughout the whole book is finally explained in the last line, you WILL get goosebumps as I did, and…yep, and I’m getting them again right now as I write this.

Best Reason To Never Look Away From a Loved One, Ever
The Leftovers, by Tom Perrotta
So it’s not enough that I have to constantly worry about the well-being of my family when I’m not in the same state as them or the same city as them, but now there’s a chance that I could walk into the next room and they could just vanish out of existence? Or perhaps while we’re watching a Youtube video and I’m sitting right next to them? This is what I have to deal with now??

Best Appetite
Catching Jordan, by Miranda Kenneally*
I can think of no less than three hundred reasons why I could never be a football player. They include: I’m five-foot-zip, I don’t like running, I don’t like throwing balls, I don’t like catching balls, my giant hair would never fit into a helmet, and, despite the fact that I love Friday Night Lights perhaps more than life itself, um, I don’t really like football all that much. But if being a football player meant that I could be like our heroine Jordan and eat heaping plates of pasta, buckets of fried chicken, and no less than five pieces of bread every night at dinner, well then. I will throw all the touchdowns and home runs and match points you want me to.

Worst Book To Read After Not Eating For Seven Hours
Way To Go, by Tom Ryan*
Now that we’ve established that me and food are besties for life, I have another complaint to lodge. I sat down very late at night to read a book that I thought was about a gay teen struggling to find himself, and that is certainly what I got. But what I also got were some massive hunger pains, because the gay teen in question works in a kitchen. And wants to become a chef. And goes on to describe the most delicious food ever. Two in the morning and I’m reading a recipe for Hollandaise sauce and you expect me not to flee the house in search of a 24-hour Denny’s? TORTURE.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

