YA Scavenger Hunt

The YA Scavenger Hunt is officially over. Thanks for playing!

Welcome to the Summer Scavenger Hunt! If you’ve gotten here via another blog on the hunt: nice to see ya! If you’re here to use my blog as the starting line: I’m flattered! Grab a Spongebob Squarepants party hat!

And a slice of dead mouse birthday cake.

So here’s the deal. The YA Scavenger Hunt is an online blog hop sponsored by over fifty authors. Winners get a giant truckload of books, and many authors have their own individual contests along the way. Each of us hosts a different author on the tour, and each author contributes some exclusive bonus material. Want to read the first chapter of Croak‘s sequel, Scorch? Of course you do! But you’ll have to keep hunting to find it!

What are the rules?

Directions: Somewhere below is my favorite number in blue. Collect the favorite numbers of all the authors on the blue team, and then add them up.

Entry Form: Once you’ve added up all the numbers, make sure you fill out the form here to officially qualify for the grand prize. Only entries that have the correct number will qualify.

Rules: Open internationally, anyone below the age of 18 should have a parent or guardian’s permission to enter. To be eligible for the grand prize, you must submit the completed entry form by August 5, at noon Pacific Time. Entries sent without the correct number or without contact information will not be considered.

If you’ve already been to this blog or are stuck in any way, click here to go to the YA Scavenger Hunt website for some help. Also note that you are currently blog hopping on the Blue Team – once you’re done with this one, check out the Red Team for a chance to win even more prizes!

So without further ado, let me welcome my guest to the stage:

Hey look! It’s Debbie Viguié!

Debbie Viguié is the New York Times Bestselling Author of the Wicked series and two dozen other books.  She is one of the queens of epic dark fantasy.  Debbie also writes thrillers including The Psalm 23 Mysteries, the Witch Hunt trilogy, and the Kiss trilogy.

And what is her new book, VANQUISHED, about?

Hope is in short supply, but courage runs deep as the Salamancan hunters recover from a devastating loss. Jenn knows she must rally her team against the Cursed Ones, but her focus is shattered. She’s torn between passion for Antonio, who once fought by her side, and hate for the bloodthirsty vampire he’s become. His volatility is tearing apart their team…and Jenn’s trust.

You can find out more about Debbie at her website, and buy her book on Amazon.

But that’s not all!

Enter my contest for a chance to win a copy of Scorch! There are, like, 28 ways to enter: follow me on Twitter, like me on Facebook, follow this blog, follow me on Pinterest, or leave a comment below guessing the name of my new puppy (hint: he’s named after a character from a beloved 80’s movie). If anyone guesses it on the nose, they’ll get a prize too!

**Personal friends: no spoilers, please.
Additional hint: It’s not The Brave Little Toaster

When you’re all done clicking and liking and following, just fill out this little form, and you’ll be entered! (You MUST fill out the form to be entered, otherwise I won’t know what to give you credit for):

Contest is now closed, and winners will be announced tomorrow, August 6. Thanks for entering!

Okay, now what?

Click here to check out the next author on the hunt!

134 comments

  1. Thanks for the awesome giveaway and great guest post!
    Puppy names… 80s movies… erm, the only thing that comes to mind is Doc Brown’s dog from Back To The Future. So that’d be Einstein, right? (Haha I bet I’m way off)

  2. My first thought was Hollywood from the movie Mannequin. I don’t even know why, probably because I’ve been made to watch that film so many times so it’s the first thing that pops into my mind when I think “80s”! And also because I like his character so much :P. Thanks for the giveaway!

  3. I was going to guess ET, but since there have already been two guesses, I’d say my chance at winning is less if that is it! So I am going with Axel from Beverly Hills Cop :)

    Thanks for the chance to win!

  4. Uh, Long Duck Dong from Sixteen Candles? I know it’s a long shot but it is the only one I could think of off the top of my head. Plus it’s an awesome name ;)

  5. I was going to say Bender from The Breakfast Club, bu somebody beat me to it! So, I’ll go with Ducky from Pretty in Pink. (Is that taken yet?)

    Thanks for the giveaway and for participating in the YA Scavenger Hunt!

    Rachel @ Beauty and the Bookshelf

  6. Everybody loves Back to the Future, right? I’m going with Einstein, although now that I sift through the comments, it seems like I’m not the only one! (:

  7. Thanks for the giveaway! Let’s see…Bender from The Breakfast Club? I can’t really remember any 80’s movies right now…

  8. Hmm lemme think brave little toaster? Or maybe just toaster? Lol! This was my sisters favourite movie growing up we still watch I on VHS sometimes ^.^

  9. I’m at a cross road between Spike and Sebastian haha! xP They just seem to be great names for a dog and Spike is one of my dog’s name.

  10. I think I’ll go with my favorite movie from the 80’s. Ferris? xD I see some other people have already got it but I’ll say it as well.

  11. I’m going to guess you named him Kirby, after the vacuum cleaner ^^ if I’m wrong, you probably went with Toaster. I’d totally call my puppy toaster… if I had one :P

    Thank you for being a part of the Scavenger Hunt and for adding your own little competition give away! ^^

  12. All right…my guess is Stay Puft Marshmallow Man (or SPMM/Marshmallow for short) from Ghostbusters. Thanks for the giveaway!

  13. Number 5 from Short Circuit? Oh wait… it was one of your beloved characters – not mine :P

    I’m really liking other people’s suggestion of Gremlin or Duckie. Whatever he’s called, that’s one extremely adorable puppy :)

  14. I’m so bad at guessing so I’m just going to throw mine out there. Is it he named Charlie Barkin from ‘All Dogs Go To Heaven’?
    Thanks for the giveaway!

  15. I am guessing also… From the Brave Little Toaster
    The Hoover
    Harold and Marjorie
    The Daisy
    The Master
    The Ballerina
    The Electric Blanket

  16. Firstly your puppy is so cute! my guess for his name is mikey though i’d also guess Data or blane or johnny (your didn’t say we couldn’t guess more than once) :)

  17. There are so many good puppy names! But I’m going to go with Spike. Perfect dog name, and perfect evil Gremlin.

  18. Ok, so maybe im over thinking this but you gave the hint of not the brave little toaster and the brave little toaster is a disney movie so i looked at disney movies and the dog i found from a disney movie was Copper from The Fox in the Hound. Maybe im over thinking it but still thats my guess :)

  19. 80s movies um…. sixteen candles,breakfast club,pretty in pink that’s all that comes to mind when I think of movies from the 80s. I’ll go with Ted aka the geek from sixteen candles.

  20. Thanks so much for the extra giveaway! :) I’m gonna guess Claire, because who doesn’t love The Breakfast Club? :)

  21. I liked you on facebook (Morgan McKenna). I’m guessing your dog is named after Duckie from Pretty In Pink. Thanks for participating in YASH!! (=

  22. Man, reading all the entries makes me wanna haul out my 80s movies and have a marathon today! I’m gonna guess Wickett from the ewok movie (which I also now want to watch)! Thanks for the extra giveaway!

  23. I don’t know of that many 80’s movies… the only one I can think of off the top of my head is Robocop… and I’m thinking that’s not right. I’ll just say Pooh (as in Winnie the Pooh) because that’s the name of another adorable black furball I know of.

Leave a Reply

