YA Scavenger Hunt Winner, Puppy Names, and Event This Weekend

Thanks once again to all who participated in the YA Scavenger Hunt this weekend! It was bigger and badder than ever, and we hope that you had a great time and learned about some fabulous new books. And an extra special thank you to all who entered my own personal contest for a copy of SCORCH! The lucky winner is…

Rachel P.! Congratulations!

Also, I got TONS of awesome puppy name guesses from you guys. Awesome, but wrong. Not surprising, given that the only hint I gave was that it was a character from an 80’s movie. (Apologies to the younger set out there -but you had good guesses too!) So let’s see…we’ve got a lot for Ducky, Gremlin/Gizmo, Ferris/Bueller, ET/Elliot, Bender, McFly and Yoda…and some bonus points to those who guessed some of my dearly beloved childhood movies, like Thor from Adventures in Babysitting, Charlie from All Dogs Go To Heaven, Littlefoot from Land Before Time, and, of course, The Brave Little Toaster, which is not what the name is from but is one of the best and creepiest movies ever made regarding the plight of sentient appliances.

A few of you were on the right track with the right movie, guessing Buttercup, Inigo Montoya, and Westley, which are close but no cigar. So here he is, fresh off my special edition 2-disc box set of of The Princess Bride, I give you…Fezzik!

“Anybody want a peanut?”

Because he’s fuzzy and friendly and is going to be big (as many people feel the need to inform us, often with much pity in their voices). Also he’s good at rhyming and throwing rocks.

Lastly, I’m going to be somewhere this weekend! More specifically, at Oblong Books & Music in Rhinebeck, New York at 4:00pm on Sunday, August 12th. It’s all part of their Hudson Valley YA Society series, and Robin Palmer and Carley Moore will be appearing as well. RSVP with the store via email or Facebook, and if you can do it without humming the theme song from The Oblongs, good for you because I haven’t gotten it out of my head for days. Hope to see you there!

One comment

  1. Oh my goodness The Brave Little Toaster gave me nightmares when I was little. I barely remember it but it was terrifying. Adorable dog by the way. I was hoping for Long Duck Dong from Sixteen Candles but Fezzik is cuter :)

Leave a Reply

