August Sharky Awards

In my ever-evolving quest to recognize the books that I read and enjoy (but without writing reviews (because I am terrible at that)), I give out awards that highlight some of my favorite things about the books I’ve read over the past month. And since my bookmark is a shark – a bookshark, if you will – I call them the Sharkys. And in honor of my upcoming road trip book tour (in which you should TOTALLY try and get me to come to your town), here is a picture of a shark…car.

For all your car shark road trip book tour needs.

Click on the book covers to go to the authors’ websites. Now on to the awards!
*denotes fellow Apocalypsie

Winner of the World’s Worst Dad Coffee Mug
What She Left Behind, by Tracy Bilen*
Sara’s dad doesn’t seem too bad at first. Okay, so he left the police force after his partner got killed, that’s understandable…and then he went a little bananas in the wake of his son’s suicide, and…oh, I see, he beats his wife, that’s no good..and now she’s trying to get Sara out of the house so they can run away, smart move…oh God, what is he doing now? Dude, what is WRONG with you? Every chapter is a new (yet utterly riveting) dawning of horror! SOMEONE STOP THIS RAGING PSYCHOPATH!

Most Likely to Make Me Miss My Subway Stop
Auracle, by Gina Rosati*
I was just getting to the Big Scary Thing that launches the whole plot into action. It was compelling. It was suspenseful. I was into it. And it was enough to make me forget my surroundings and fly right past the stop I was supposed to get off at. I looked up moments later, hopelessly confused, and got off at the next one, but I for one didn’t mind the extra walk, because finding out what happened next was worth it.

Best Adult
Pushing the Limits, by Katie McGarry*
Here’s the problem with falling in love with the characters in a book: you want to dive in and solve all of their problems. All of them. Even though I am not a certified professional and I have NO business giving advice to distraught, emotionally damaged teenagers, I wanted nothing more than to interrupt this book and announce: “Noah? Echo? GROUP HUG TIME.” Luckily, these two have a wonderful resource in Mrs. Collins, their snarky guidance counselor who fixed them up in ways I never would have thought of. Like, you know, actually solving their issues. How ’bout that.

Best Bread
Insurgent, by Veronica Roth
Look, the characters in the Divergent series have a lot of problems. Like, a LOT of problems. Such as getting shot at, frequently. Who can blame the Amity faction for wanting to make all of their troubles fly out the window? And what better way to do it than with bread laced with peace serum? I mean, one of my favorite ways to make the sadsies go away is to make a giant honkin’ sandwich, so really, we’re talking two birds, one stone here. Screw you, Atkins. Carbs for the win.

5 comments

  1. Gina,

    I am a big fan of your books and I’m really looking forward to the release of Scorched but I found the shark picture on this newsletter sad and disappointing. Shark poaching is a very real and serious problem and I’m offended by your choice to post this picture as a tool for humour.

    I’m not trying to insult or attack you in any way, so please don’t take this message in that way.

    Thanks for your time, Caila

    Date: Fri, 31 Aug 2012 14:15:23 +0000 To: pixiedust515@hotmail.com

  2. Gina,
    Sorry, I hadn’t realized that this was posted publicly or I would have definitely commented sooner. The shark car picture is awesome and thank you very much for changing it, though that wasn’t my intention in sending you that comment. Like I said, it was not my intent to insult you in any way, just a big shark fan speaking out.

    Good luck on the tour and your upcoming release. Very much looking forward to reading SCORCHED!

Leave a Reply

