Happy Take Your Man-Eating Plant To Work Day

I haven’t been posting stuff here much lately, and when I have, it’s all been serious stuff, which is very un-me. So I think it’s high time we got back to our regularly scheduled programming of nonsensical ramblings and drawings of giraffes with funny hats.

giraffe

So, what have I been up to? Primarily these three things:

    • Writing. Rogue is coming out in September, and now that copyedits are over, it’s well on its way to being a real book.
_MG_0662Fezzik, like me, didn’t know they made paper that big.

But since it’s the last book in the trilogy, I’ve had to get my act together on writing some new stuff, which is what I have been doing. Nothing I can announce just yet, but stay tuned. (And before anyone starts asking/pleading/threatening my life, the answer is no, I will not be writing any more books in the Croak series. Don’t get me wrong–I love those characters. I LOVE THEM ALL SO MUCH. But their story is over.)

  • Being in a musical. Specifically, a community theater production of Little Shop of Horrors, one of my all-time favorite musicals, which I’ve wanted to be in ever since I was a kid and had a gigantic crush on Rick Moranis (don’t ask). I play Chiffon, who is full of sass. Here I am painted up like a common whore, wearing a beehive wig, and holding a carnivorous plant.
20130421_164403Yes, I am a Far Side cartoon come to life.
  • Watching the news. Because how could I not? Last Thursday night I happened to still be awake and watching TV when the whole manhunt car chase started, and so I kept watching…and watching…and then Will pulled up some police scanners and twitter accounts and news channels on his fancy CTU-like computer setup, and we sort of, um, stayed up all night. And kept watching throughout the next day. We do not live in the area that was on lockdown, but we do live directly adjacent to that area, which meant that A) we thought it would be a good idea to stay inside anyway, but B) we were still able to order a pizza while doing so. (Turns out we weren’t in much danger in the first place, as we do not own a boat.) And of course, after 18 solid hours of this stuff, it all came to a thrilling conclusion that I wasn’t able to watch because I had to go be sassy in a musical. Le sigh.

So that’s my life pretty much. Oh, and one more bit of excitement! Croak has been nominated for the Teens’ Top Ten, which is a neato thing that is sponsored by YALSA. I’ll let their website explain:

The Teens’ Top Ten is a “teen choice” list where every title is nominated and voted on by teens. The 2013 nominations have been posted on the YALSA website so that teens across the country can read them all summer; voting will take place Aug. 15 – Sept. 15 via YALSA’s brand new Teens’ Top Ten site for teens at www.ala.org/yalsa/reads4teens, and the winners will be announced during Teen Read Week in October.

Cool, huh? So if you are a teen, be sure to read the books and vote come August. (I’d tell you to vote specifically for Croak, but hey, you’re old enough to make your own decisions.) And if you are not a teen, be sure to read the books anyway, because it’s an amazing list and I’m honored to be a part of it.

One comment

  1. OMG Little Shop of Horrors is one of my favorite movies!! You look fabulous with the carnivorous plant by the way!! I finished listening to Croak last week and loved it!! The audio is great so I will have to pick up Scorch too! Congrats on the nomination too!!

Leave a Reply

