My disgusting new invention

Late afternoon, Saturday. I’d been working on HELLHOLE for so long, my eyes were about ready to pack up their eyebags and buy a one-way ticket to Eye Aruba. My brain, apt to start making up concepts such as Eye Aruba, was not faring much better. But I was going out to dinner with some friends that night, and figured that me and my barely functional self might benefit from some caffeine.

Since it was too late in the day for coffee–if I drink it past mid-afternoon, I can’t get to sleep at night–I decided on tea. I put the teabag into my mug and set it under the Keurig…then got distracted and forgot all about it.

Cut to Sunday morning. Time to walk the dog. I always make coffee just before taking the dog out, so that by the time I get back it’s cooled down a little and is ready to drink. (PRO TIP: If you have trouble with your hot beverage temperatures, get a dog!) So I turn on the machine, and what’s this? The mug is already sitting beneath the spout! What convenience! What foresight!

You can see where this is going. I made coffee on top of a teabag. It was exactly as abominable as it sounds, and this is coming from a person who hates the taste of both coffee and tea in the first place (I drink them only for the caffeine, and yes, I realize that makes me sound like an addict, but I CAN STOP WHENEVER I WANT, LAY OFF ME, MAN). I wouldn’t say I was any perkier than normal after drinking The CofTea® (because yes, I drank the whole thing), but then again, I can’t say for sure that I didn’t reread the entire Harry Potter series over a span of two hours. In honor of Walter White, let’s just say I went into a fugue state.


Quick shoutout to the ROGUE blog tour, which rages on over at Chapter by Chapter, and don’t forget to pick up your Kindle copy of SCORCH on Amazon, which is a steal at only $1.99 for the month of August! It’s a fireball of savings, people!

One comment

  1. Even when coffee + other caffeinated substance combinations sound good, they never are. CofTea. ChocFee. CofCino. CofChai. I just always want to combine coffee with other things to make it taste better, but yea it never does XD

Leave a Reply

