My friends and I drove across the country. Part 4.

[The title should give you an idea of what this is about, but to get some context, read the intro from Day 1.]

The main problem with doing a road trip under a time limit is that you can’t really allow yourself the freedom to meander. There were many times, while staring out the window of the endless fields and horizons going by, that I wanted to pull off the highway and investigate those weird little towns that contained nothing but a tavern, but we always ended up passing them by. Except for one: Texola, Oklahoma, right on the Texas border.

The place was deserted. And I mean that literally. Most of the dozen or so homes were long abandoned, all dilapidated and crumbling. It was eerie and cool, and also a little sad.

IMG_1418 IMG_1424

Drunk with the power of small-town discovery, we stopped at an unprecedented second location once we got well into Texas, and one that I had been drooling over in my guide book all day: The Devil’s Rope Museum. AKA a museum dedicated entirely to barbed wire and other Texas-ranch-related awesomeness.

IMG_1428I have since erected a similar monument outside my house.

See gasp-inducing collections, such as: displays of barbed wire!

IMG_1445Something tells me Wayne was a big fan of keeping human heads in his icebox.

The Miniature Sad Iron Collection!

IMG_1431Nothing sad about this!

A list of cattle brands!

IMG_1434Amazingly, only one of them slightly resembles a sperm.

Medicines with which to treat the many wounds inflicted by barbed wire!

IMG_1446I’d have needed a Costco-sized supply of this stuff.

A section of the museum dedicated to the history of Route 66, in which you could see such mind-melting exhibits as: this cow!

IMG_1448“No one understands our love.”

This creepy-ass diner, complete with dead-eyed mannequins!

IMG_1450“What can I get ya, sweetheart? Maybe a little murder?”

Jokes aside, I really loved that museum. It was weird and interesting and thorough. Miles of barbed wire, tons of farming equipment, lots of info on Texas ranch brands (which, for whatever reason, and to the confusion of my travel mates, I found fascinating) and all sorts of other cool things that we didn’t have time to really appreciate. I suppose this means I will have to return. IN COSTUME.

We continued on our way through the Texas panhandle, spotting this crooked water tower on the way:

IMG_1457Which made me think of Connie Britton, which made me think of Friday Night Lights, which made me hum the theme song as we drove through Texas and OH NO I’M SOBBING

Finally we arrived at the Big Texan Steak Ranch. It was hard to find, though, because the signage was so subtle.

IMG_1470

The Big Texan is known for this:

IMG_1465

If you can eat the whole 72-oz steak (that’s four and a half pounds) PLUS a baked potato PLUS a shrimp cocktail PLUS a salad PLUS a bread roll, it’s free. We did not undertake this challenge, mostly because we had already eaten lunch somewhere else. But we did go in and have a drink, and while there I took lots of photos of this Disneyworld of a restaurant.

IMG_1467Inexplicable dinosaur named Tex Rex!
IMG_1469Inexplicable technicolor hotel!
IMG_1471Inexplicable bear wearing a cowboy hat!

And as the sun set, we left that strange land known as Texas and continued on our final leg into New Mexico. Twerk was sad to say goodbye, especially since he had finally made a dinosaur friend.

IMG_1485“I’ll never forget you, Tex Rex!”

Tomorrow: New Mexico! The newest of Mexicos!

6 comments

  1. You should add a Twitter button to your posts so they’re easier to tweet/share. You could just travel full time and write about your trips and I’d be happy:)

Leave a Reply

