Giveaway of the month: Polish edition of CROAK

I haven’t previously talked about this very much because, truth be told, I did not know exactly when the Polish edition of CROAK, published by Fabryka Słów , was coming out–because, truth be told, no one told me. But lo and behold, it now exists! In Poland!

Punkrocka! 

The translator, bless her heart, contacted me with lots of questions about what all of the English death idioms and puns meant (fun fact: instead of “kick the bucket”, the Polish expression is “kick the calendar”), and proceeded to toil tirelessly in the thankless job of making sense of my nonsense. I think just trying to comprehend what a smack of jellyfish is broke her brain for weeks on end.

And while I don’t speak Polish myself, and therefore admittedly have no way of assessing the translation, she seemed very thorough and committed to getting it right–so I’m going to go ahead and say she did a fantastic job. So big thanks to Dominika Repeczko and what’s left of her smack-addled brain!

Anyway, I received some Polish copies of the book, and would like to give one away. If you speak Polish, or read your grim-reaper-and-death-pun-filled YA books exclusively in Polish, or enjoy collecting foreign editions of books, or maybe you’re like me and just enjoy yelling “ZGON!” at unexpected times throughout the day, enter below to win!

Giveaway now closed.

5 comments

  1. Reblogged this on The Otaku Librarian and commented:
    I know there are some Croak fans out there watching my blog – now is your chance to win something super cool and a little strange and pretty unique – a Polish edition of Croak! Head over to Gina Damico’s blog to fill out the entry form :)

  2. Awesome contest!, “ZGON!” A Polish edition of Croak, to go with my English edition of Croak would be cool!
    Mindy :)

  3. I’m from Poland. “Zgon” is on my bookshelf. Thank you very much for this book. It’s great and I can’t wait to see polish editions of Scorch and Rogue in our bookstores.

  4. I`m from Poland too. I bought “Zgon” a few days ago. And I love this book! Today I finished to read “Scorch” and “Rogue”. I`m sad. A little. It`s very good trilogy.
    *Sorry, my english is terrible! *mea culpa!*

  5. Hi. I’m also from Poland.:) i’m just reading you book. Quite good.:) i look forward to the next parts in polish bookshops. greeting from poland. take care

Leave a Reply

