There are also things to do in Denver when you’re not dead.

I was invited to visit Denver, Colorado last week to present a teen writing workshop and appear on a panel at the perfectly lovely Belmar branch of the perfectly lovely Jefferson County Public Library. The kids were great, the other authors on the panel were great, the librarians were great (shoutout to Chandra, organizer who is super great, and Dodie Ownes, who helped with the workshop and is also super great), and this girl even dressed up like Lex, which tickled me all shades of pink.

2014-01-05 16.35.26I daresay she might have a career in bookmark modeling.

The title of this post is a little misleading, I’ll admit, because really the only thing I did in Denver was eat. A lot. I was there during the POLAR VORTEX OF DOOM (a.k.a. a typical Syracuse winter), and since it was so cold and snowy out, walking around the city and enjoying the nonexistent sights and sounds and happy Colorado mountain people just wasn’t in the cards. So my friend Allison (who you may remember as the friend whom we deposited in Santa Fe on my road trip last September) drove up and we proceeded to eat the food out of all the tasty restaurants we could find.

I won’t bore you with food descriptions, though. I will instead bore you with other things. Including a not-so-great photo of the airport, which was the wackiest-looking airport/circus I ever did see.

2014-01-07 10.59.26If you squint, you can see a rogue Cirque du Soleil acrobat flipping about.

The airport also featured this cheery mural, which I don’t know what why how

2014-01-04 23.09.06Welcome to Denver!

The one tourist attraction we did visit was, by our hunger-ravaged decree, also food-related: the Hammond’s Candy Factory! This is where I learned that candy factories, while delicious and fascinating, also cause me to make heinously ridiculous faces:

2014-01-06 12.00.54Nostalgia: scary to me, for some reason

Hammond’s is known for their candy canes, and gosh darnit wouldn’t you know it, they were cooking up a big batch at the exact time our tour went through. Here they are, popping out a little machine, then getting cut by a Candy Cane Cutter Guy and curved into a cane shape by a Candy Cane Shaper Lady:

2014-01-06 12.19.29Gotta love the beardnet.

Though I was quite partial to this bad boy:

2014-01-06 12.22.08And I plan on having one installed in my house at my earliest convenience.

From there, the entire thing descended into endless comparisons of that one episode of I Love Lucy:

2014-01-06 12.24.40

And at last we were deposited into the gift shop, but not before each of us received a FREE BROKEN CANDY CANE. We’re talking Willy Wonka levels of magic here, folks.

All in all, I had a wonderful, delicious time, and would love to return one day to see those alleged “mountains” that the snow so deviously obscured. Thanks, Denver!

2 comments

    • Okay, the stuff I recommend is: delicious poutine at Euclid Hall, delicious exotic hot dogs at Biker Jim’s, delicious pub food and craft beer at Wynkoop Brewery, and delicious fancy foodie food at Rioja. The theme of Denver was: delicious.

Leave a Reply

