NYC Teen Author Festival recap

This weekend I hopped on a bus and made the trek down to New York City for my third annual appearance at the NYC Teen Author Festival. It’s a week-long schedule of events organized by David Levithan, who invites, like, a hundred YA authors to participate in panels, readings, signings–and the option I chose, doing a crazy voice in front of a lot of confused people.

IMG95201403239511544595776Clearly, donning a bird shirt was the only way to prepare.

A lot of the events for the NYCTAF took place at the New York Public Library on 42nd Street, which had an awesome exhibit going on called “The ABC of It: Why Children’s Books Matter”. I ducked in to check it out, and oh my heavens look how adorable all this is:

2014-03-21 16.28.28

2014-03-21 16.29.29The original stuffed animals from Winnie the Pooh! Eeyore looks depressed, for once.

The panel that I got assigned to was called Literary Matchmaking, and here’s how it worked: each author participating had to choose a character from their books and fill out an OKCupid profile for that character. We were then matched up in pairs and had to collaborate on writing a blind date, which we then recapped for our captive, horrified audience.

photoNo one’s throwing up yet. That’s a good sign.

I chose Pandora as my character, so for those of you who are familiar with the Croak books, I’m sure you can imagine what a circus that was. I did a crazy old lady voice. I used the term “shag shack”. It was magical.

On Sunday there was a massive signing at the always-delightful Books of Wonder, where I got to meet a bunch of fans–including Lili from Lili’s Reflections, who has always been a big supporter of the Croak trilogy.

>IMG95201403239513563195212BjbndyCIQAAgboA

Then I took a photo of a sunset to symbolize the end of the weekend. And when I got home, I woke up the next morning with pink eye. Thanks NYCTAF!

2014-03-22 19.03.39

Leave a Reply

