Behind the Book – CROAK, Chapter #10

10

Behind the Book is an ongoing series wherein I tackle a new chapter of Croak each week and give you all of the secret, behind-the-scenes tidbits and trivia that went into writing it. For an archive of past chapters, click here. To read the spoilers, highlight the blank spaces marked with <<hi>>; proceed at your own risk if you haven’t read the entire series. Enjoy!

Chapter 10: The Spidering

  • I can’t recall where I got the idea for the Lair,but I did know that I wanted to put black widow spiders into the book somewhere. I mean, come on: hourglass-figure on their back, creepy as hell, called “black widows”–they were tailor-made for the Grimsphere and everyone knows it. Thanks evolution!

Black_widow_ventral_1370

  • Pandora is hands down one of my favorite characters to write. She’s loosely based on a wicked-witch character that I created for a play back in college, because I love writing cranky old women so much that I have to put one in pretty much everything I do. They are the definition of A DELIGHT.
  • Of all the death-food puns at the Morgue, I would order a HomiCider first. Hey, here’s a challenge for one of you loyal readers out there: open up a real-life Morgue. You do all the work, and we split the profits. It’s win-win!
  • Ayjay was originally Hawaiian and into surfing rather than weightlifting, until my editor correctly pointed out that it’s hard to maintain a surfing obsession in the middle of the Adirondack mountains.
  • I am shocked–shocked–that Sofi’s trademark phrase “Holy bananas!” has not become a worldwide sensation.
  • Throughout the books it’s obvious that Ferbus is not the biggest fan of Lex, for a variety of reasons–she’s muscling in on his best friend, she makes a lot of insane decisions, she’s not exactly a rosy personality–but here in this chapter is, I think, the real heart of his detestation: she has a loving family and a great life, while he’s had nothing but a string of foster homes. From this point on, he really starts to resent her, and can never pass up a snarky comment when her parents are mentioned. He’s never able to bridge that gap, and that bitterness <<lasts all the way until the end – where it actually serves a purpose.>>

Got any questions about Chapter 10? Post them below!

Leave a Reply

