Behind the Book – CROAK, Chapter #11

11

Behind the Book is an ongoing series wherein I tackle a new chapter of Croak each week and give you all of the secret, behind-the-scenes tidbits and trivia that went into writing it. For an archive of past chapters, click here. To read the spoilers, highlight the blank spaces marked with <<hi>>; proceed at your own risk if you haven’t read the entire series. Enjoy!

Chapter 11: The Straightening

  • For anyone who’d like to read more deeply into Lex’s hair transformation, I’ll just throw it out there that most of the waking hours of my adolescence were focused on trying to straighten my birds-nest hair into something presentable. *cough, wish fulfillment, cough*
  • But actually, I get asked a lot why hair changes as a result of going into the Ether. It’s because I wanted Grims to experience physical effects as a result of what they do, since what they do is so extraordinary. It’s the same reason their fingers get thinner.
  • Now that I’m reading this over, the part where Uncle Mort goes to get the slides for the projector – do people these days even know what slides are? I mean, I hope not. Those things were awful.
  • In the library, Lex looks at the photos of Grims from years past. When I wrote this, <<I was already envisioning the scene in Rogue when Lex spots the photo of her mother.>>
  • Throughout all of the drafts of Croak, the rules of the Grimsphere had been called the Laws. The very last decision that my editor and I made before the manuscript went into final edits was to switch them to the Terms of Execution. It’s officialer.
  • 99% of all the emails I send are identical in tone to Cordy’s email to Lex. I think all I had to do was change the names.
  • The last sentence of this chapter is <<a giant hunk of foreshadowing. Lex has a sudden urge to break the glass of the jellyfish tank, which, as revealed in Rogue, is what her mother was kicked out of the Grimsphere for doing.>>

Got any questions about Chapter 11? Post them below!

Leave a Reply

