Behind the Book – CROAK, Chapter #12

12

Behind the Book is an ongoing series wherein I tackle a new chapter of Croak each week and give you all of the secret, behind-the-scenes tidbits and trivia that went into writing it. For an archive of past chapters, click here. To read the spoilers, highlight the blank spaces marked with <<hi>>; proceed at your own risk if you haven’t read the entire series. Enjoy!

Chapter 12: The Hosing

  • Deleted Scene Alert: In addition to the airplane explosion, Driggs trained Lex in a few more extreme examples of death, including a shark attack and a fire, but it started dragging on too long so they got cut. Luckily, <<I got to ressurrect them in Rogue, as part of the training modules in Necropolis.>>
  • I can’t help picturing Heloise as a younger, less wrinkly version of Izma from The Emperor’s New Groove. Which is one of my favorite Disney movies. Because it has llamas. And is also hilarious.
  • The whole thing about the onion rings – how they are not offered as lightly as French fries are, and thus carry a certain weight about them – is something I truly believe. French fries are for acquaintances, onion rings are for true friends.
  • I like Sofi. No, really! She likes pink, she does some annoying things, and <<okay, yes, she goes on to totally betray the gang in Scorch>>, but at this point she’s just a girl who has an unrequited crush on a boy, and acts a little weird and desperate because of it. Girl, I have been there. In junior high, the boy that I had a major crush on called me out of the blue one day (!!!), but it turned out he just wanted help with our music class assignment. By which I mean that he wanted me to do it for him. And of course I did. Because of his STUPID BEAUTIFUL EYES. I regret everything. Not only because you shouldn’t give away your hard work and intelligence just because a boy bats his stupid beautiful eyes at you, but also because he never even asked me to dance at the end-of-the-year semi-formal. Sofi, I feel you.
  • The avocado-colored rotary phone that Uncle Mort owns is taken directly from my own childhood. I would give ANYTHING to still have it.
  • I want the scene of Driggs wrangling an out-of-control water hose in the background to be constantly happening in the background of my own life.

Got any questions about Chapter 12? Post them below!

3 comments

  1. I love that Heloise looks a little like Izma. Seriously, that movie is one of those movies that I kind of want constantly playing in the background of my life. Along with Driggs wrangling hoses, playing the drums, and eating oreos. Or Driggs doing pretty much anything, honestly.

  2. I had almost burst.out laughing in the middle of class while envisioning Mort rooting around in a toaster with a fork.
    Oh and also i wondered if there was a certain soundtrack that you listened to while writing the Croak series?

    • I generally need complete silence when writing. I know, it’s lame. I even have a pair of noise-cancelling ear protection that airport runway workers wear. I do, however, go on walks and listen to music and I do a lot of plotting/thinking as I listen, but that’s just a mix from my ipod, nothing in particular.

Leave a Reply

