The Halloween Book Trail

HBT14-The-WoodsWelcome to the third stop of The Woods!

The third stop of the what now?
This is the first ever Halloween Book Trail, where you’ll find all kinds of posts from your favorite YA & MG authors, and discover new authors and their work.

How do you play?
Every post contains information that will lead to killer prizes! Books, swag, skype sessions, free squirrels, etc. At the end of each blog post you’ll find a link that will take you to the next stop in the trail. By the end, you’ll find a quiz. Submit your entry to the quiz for a chance to win a grand prize! Accuracy matters here, so take your time, or go back and refresh your memory! One quiz entry per trail.

But who are you?

I’m Gina Damico. I grew up under four feet of snow in Syracuse, New York, and have since worked as a tour guide, transcriptionist, theater house manager, scenic artist, movie extra, office troll, retail monkey, yarn hawker and breadmonger. I am the author of the grim-reapers-gone-wild books of the Croak trilogy (Croak, Scorch, and Rogue), published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, and the upcoming Hellhole (January 2015). I live in Western Massachusetts with my husband, two cats, one dog, and while I have never visited hell in person, I have spent countless waking hours at the Albany Regional Bus Terminal, which is pretty darn close.

Well, that’s all fine and good, but I have some hard-hitting questions for you. Such as: What scares the pants off you?

Things that are sticky (especially Band-Aids *full body shudder*), and flying off into outer space, WHICH I was scared of long before Gravity came out. They copied it from my brain.

What is your most embarrassing Halloween costume malfunction?

In the second grade I painted and decorated a cardboard box to look like a television. The malfunction was that everyone else in my grade was dressed as ghosts and pirates and kittens, and I was dressed as a television.

Would you rather be covered in slime or covered in blood?

Slime, and I have a VERY good reason. There was a time when I was fairly obsessed with Nickelodeon – specifically the show You Can’t Do That On Television, the one where they were sliming kids all the live-long day. It was at the height of this obsession that we went on a family trip to Florida, and when we went to Nickelodeon Studios, they asked for a volunteer to be slimed. THIS WAS IT. MY DAY HAD COME. And they picked….my sister. Never before nor since have I been besieged by such an all-consuming jealous rage. She got a certificate and everything, which she smugly waves in my face to this very day.

Got any favorite Halloween costume photos?

Here’s when I was a volcano:IMG_5826

And a fire hydrant:

IMG_4885

And a pineapple.

IMG_6700

Hey, you asked.

What is your favorite passage from HELLHOLE?

The devil rubbed his palms together and started to stroll around the room. “I’ll require a hot tub – obviously – and a walk-in closet, three spiral staircases, a full-sized meat locker, a bumper car racetrack, a sex dungeon, and a llama. Those last two are unrelated.”

9780544307100 (1)
Ha ha. What is HELLHOLE?

It’s my next book! It comes out January 6th, 2015 (and it has already gotten a starred review.) Here is a description:

Geeky, squeaky-clean Max Kilgore only has one dirty habit: digging for fossils. One day, to his horror, his shovel strikes not upon a dinosaur bone, but a pit to hell—and out of it comes a devil. Specifically, the kind of devil who eats a lot of junk food, watches a lot of reality television, plays a lot of video games, and refuses to leave Max’s basement. But evil is still evil, no matter what form it takes. And Max has to find a way to comply with the demands of the big red menace, lest he lay waste to everyone and everything Max cares about.

With the help of Lore, a former goth girl who knows a thing or two about the dark side, Max goes in search of a new abode for his unwanted guest. Finding a place where he can reside in luciferian luxury isn’t easy, but Max has strong motivation: his mother, whose terminal illness the devil promises to cure if Max gives him what he wants. Lore has her doubts about making a deal with the devil, but Max will stop at nothing to save his mom. And pretty soon, he’s doing things the good kid he once was would never dream of doing. Clearly, hanging around with a devil is a bad influence. But how can Max get rid of the guy without incurring the wrath of hell?

Can I pre-order this alleged masterpiece?

You can – at Amazon, Barnes & NobleIndieBound, or your favorite local bookstore. And if you do, let me know so I can send you some sweet free prizes.

Is there any way I can snag a signed copy, other than by winning the Halloween Book Trail grand prize?

You’re awfully persistent. But yes, you can, either by leaving a comment on this post telling me your favorite Halloween costume, and/or by following me on social media (Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, Instagram, YouTube). BONUS: I will also send out HELLHOLE swag packs to five lucky runners-up. So fill out the form below to enter!

Contest is closed. Winner announced soon!

Are we about done here?

Yes. Thanks for stopping by! For the next stop on the trail, visit Erica Cameron’s website. Good luck!

11 comments

  1. My favorite costume that I ever had was my hobo costume. It was a very easy costume. I had a flannel shirt, worn jeans, there was brown/black make-up smeared all over my face, and the piece-de-resistance, my hobo sack. I tied a pillowcase to a random stick and that was my candy bag. The best part was that instead of saying “Trick or Treat?” I said “Spare change?”. Some people actually gave me some change…

  2. My favorite costume was definitely when I was a pregnant man for Halloween. In 8th grade I put a pillow case under my shirt and as the night went on I put all of my candy in the pillow case and so it made it look like my stomach was growing and by the end of the night I looked 9 months pregnant.

  3. More recently, one of my favorite costumes was dressing up as a Texas square dancing zombie, with a full ruffled black skirt (ripped & torn, of course lol), broken beads and (FAKE) bugs glued to my head! :O

Leave a Reply

