It’s YA Scavenger Hunt time!

YASH-circle-background-2

The YA Scavenger Hunt is now over. Thanks for hunting!

Welcome to the YA Scavenger Hunt! This bi-annual event was first organized by author Colleen Houck as a way to give readers a chance to gain access to exclusive bonus material from their favorite authors, and a chance to win some awesome prizes! At this hunt, you not only get access to exclusive content from each author, you also get a clue for the hunt. Add up the clues, and you can enter for our prize–one lucky winner will receive one signed book from each author on the hunt in my team! But play fast: this contest (and all the exclusive bonus material) will only be online for 72 hours!

There are EIGHT contests going on simultaneously, and you can enter one or all! I am a part of the GOLD TEAM–but there a whole bunch of other teams, for a chance to win a whole different set of signed books!

Team-Gold-2

If you’d like to find out more about the hunt, see links to all the authors participating, and see the full list of prizes up for grabs, go to the YA Scavenger Hunt page.


SCAVENGER HUNT PUZZLE

Directions: Below, you’ll notice that I’ve listed my favorite number. Collect the favorite numbers of all the authors on the gold team, and then add them up.

Entry Form: Once you’ve added up all the numbers, make sure you fill out the form here to officially qualify for the grand prize. Only entries that have the correct number will qualify.

Rules: Open internationally, anyone below the age of 18 should have a parent or guardian’s permission to enter. To be eligible for the grand prize, you must submit the completed entry form by April 5th, at noon Pacific Time. Entries sent without the correct number or without contact information will not be considered.


I have the honor of hosting Cecil Castellucci. Let’s all learn some more about her, shall we?

cecil-castellucci-2014-web_res-9382THE AUTHOR

Cecil Castellucci is the author of books and graphic novels for young adults including Boy Proof, The Plain Janes, First Day on Earth, The Year of the Beasts, Tin Star and Odd Duck. Her picture book, Grandma’s Gloves, won the California Book Award Gold Medal. Her short stories have been published in Strange Horizons, YARN, Tor.com, and various anthologies including, Teeth, After and Interfictions 2. She is the Children’s Correspondence Coordinator for The Rumpus and a two time Macdowell Fellow.

For more information, check out her website , and buy her books here!


28ff9-stone2bin2bthe2bskyTHE BOOK

Years ago, Tula Bane was beaten and left for dead on a remote space station far from Earth, her home planet. She started with nothing and had no one, but over time, she found a home, a family, and even love. When it’s discovered that the abandoned planet beneath the station is abundant with a rare and valuable resource, aliens from across the galaxy race over to strike it rich. With them comes trouble, like the man who nearly killed Tula years ago—the man she has dreamed of destroying ever since.


THE TRAILER


THE BONUS CONTENT

One thing that I do for every novel I write is make a playlist to listen to while I’m writing. It’s a way to get myself into the mood of the character so even when I don’t want to write, I can. It’s like the soul of the book. Here is the playlist that I made while writing Stone in the Sky. These songs are the very heart beat of Tula Bane as she struggles to survive the events that have forced her to flee the space station that she’s called her home for the past few years. These songs are her fuel.

Another Year – Amanda Palmer
Leaving Home – Anna Waronker
Game Is Over – Yael Naïm
Shark In the Water (Acoustic) – V V Brown
Moonshiner  – Uncle Tupelo
Say So  – Uh Huh Her
Sorry for Laughing  – Nouvelle Vague
Meet Me On The Darkside – Melissa Auf der Maur
With Legs – The Loom
Pancakes And Sauce – Fragile Gang
Bird Song – Florence + The Machine
Catastrophe and the Cure – Explosions In The Sky
Know thy Door – Eric Erlandson
Fondu au noir – Cœur de pirate
Noah’s Ark – Coco Rosie
You Came Along – Joel Plaskett Emergency
Organeum – Girls in Hawaii
The Fog – Girls in Hawaii
Blues for Uncle Gib – Broken Social Scene

Well worth a listen: http://8tracks.com/cecilseaskull/stone-in-the-sky


THE NUMBER

Don’t forget to enter the contest for a chance to win a ton of signed books by Cecil, me, and more! To enter, you need to know that my favorite number is 28. Add up all the favorite numbers of the authors on the gold team and you’ll have all the secret code to enter for the grand prize!


9780544307100_hresOOH A GIVEAWAY

In addition to all of the fabulous prizes you can win throughout the hunt, I am giving away an extra super HELLHOLE prize pack – including a signed copy, a free audio download, and swag! To enter, fill out the form below – and get as many bonus entries as you can by following me on Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, Instagram, YouTube, or by leaving a comment telling me your favorite snack food. Good luck!

Giveaway closed. 


OOH ANOTHER GIVEAWAY

It just so happens that I am in the midst of running an audiobook giveaway as well, so while you’re here, might as well enter that one too.


CONTINUE THE HUNT

To keep going on your quest for the hunt, head over to the website of the next author: Erica O’Rourke!

97 comments

  1. Arf is being suscribed to your newsletter or blog follower can’t count because i’m not on any of teh media you cited.

    thank you for participating in this Hunt

    my favourite snack is strawberry ice cream

  2. My favorite snack varies greatly depending on my mood…right now I’m having a very yummy spinach and onion greek yogurt dip with pretzels crisps :)

    Thank you for the giveaway and for participating in YASH!
    Melissa H.

  3. Favorite Snack? Ummm. I’m going to go with salted caramel cookies or red velvet cupcakes- no matter what the time of day is- I can’t say no to them;)

  4. Thank you for the giveaway!
    I don’t know if chocolate can be counted as snack… but chocolate. And spiced peanuts!

  5. I am a snacking kind of girl so I have lots of favorites! However, currently my favorite is these amazing chocolate covered almonds with coconut from Costco! They are YUMMY!!!

  6. I’m a lazy snacker so whatever is easy to grab and sounds good. Currently I have some Lindt caramel chocolate hidden in the kitchen, though.

  7. 69th response! >:D Anyways, thanks for participating in YASH and for the giveaway! Hellhole sounds really funny! My favorite snack food is chocolate although I’m currently craving Cheeto Puffs :)

  8. So cool you’re a part of this! I *loved* your Croak series! Made me sad that I couldn’t find anything else quite like it on Amazon to read afterwards…which is weird, because you usually want originality. Guess it’s true what this random image I found related to death says – “Death leaves a heartache no one can heal.” I need to stop being such a nerd :-P But seriously, more grim reapers, please? :D

  9. Favorite snack: cookies, but not just any cookies, the big round one with chocochips those are delicious and the reason I don’t wear bikinis ;)

Leave a Reply

