Kitten Overload

I have a confession to make: I’ve been holding out on you, internet. For the past month and a half, I have been volunteering at my local animal shelter, specifically at its Kitten ICU.

That’s right. Kitten ICU. As in, I get to feed and hydrate and pet and snuggle dozens of mewling little kittens.

It is…heaven.

I haven’t posted any pictures because–I don’t know, because I’m a moron. Because it’s summer and I’m lazy. Because the toxic levels of cuteness have had a deleterious effect on my brain. But now it’s time. It’s time to show you the kittens.

Brace yourself.

I can’t remember the names of them all, since the same ones aren’t always there from week to week, but there have been some real humdingers. Some of my favorites: Sergeant Fuzzyface, Jake from State Farm, Sriracha and Pepper Jelly, Tiny Ninja, and Belt.

And then there’s this guy, Booker, whose name clearly should have been Crazy Eyes:

And last but not least, the current tiny queen of my heart, Pirate Lola. She was born with a weird eye and is going into surgery today, so let’s all send a big wave of hugs and catnip her way:

20150728_142419Yarr.

Once they’re healthy, all of these kittens will be released to the adoption center and placed in loving homes. If you are an animal lover, I highly recommend donating time, money, and/or supplies to your local shelter or humane society. It’s highly rewarding. And devastatingly adorable.

 

Leave a comment