YA Scavenger Hunt 2017: Skull Island

YA_ScavengerHunt_WebBanner

The hunt is now over. Thanks to all who participated!

Welcome to the YA Scavenger Hunt! This bi-annual event was first organized by author Colleen Houck as a way to give readers a chance to gain access to exclusive bonus material from their favorite authors, and a chance to win some awesome prizes. At this hunt, you not only get access to exclusive content from each author, you also get a clue for the hunt. Add up the clues, and you can enter for our prize–one lucky winner will receive one signed book from each author on the hunt in my team (including WASTE OF SPACE). Somewhere along the way is a sneak peak at WASTE OF SPACE, too. So, you know. Get on that.

There are five contests going on simultaneously, and you can enter one or all. I am a part of the PURPLE TEAM:

If you’d like to find out more about the hunt, see links to all the authors participating, and see the full list of prizes up for grabs, go to the YA Scavenger Hunt page.


SCAVENGER HUNT PUZZLE

Directions: Somewhere below, you’ll find my favorite number. Collect the favorite numbers of all the authors on the purple team, and then add them up.

Entry Form: Once you’ve added up all the numbers, make sure you fill out the form here to officially qualify for the grand prize. Only entries that have the correct number will qualify.

Rules: Open internationally, anyone below the age of 18 should have a parent or guardian’s permission to enter. To be eligible for the grand prize, you must submit the completed entry form by April 9th, at noon Pacific Time. Entries sent without the correct number or without contact information will not be considered.


I’m hosting Nicole Conway. Let’s learn more about her!

THE AUTHOR

Author of the bestselling series THE DRAGONRIDER CHRONICLES, Nicole Conway currently lives in South Korea with her husband and son. Her new YA Urban Fantasy series, MAD MAGIC, is pending release this fall.

For more information, check out her website , and buy her books here!


THE BOOK

When Jaevid Broadfeather is given the rare opportunity to become a dragonrider for the king’s army, the 15-year-old boy has no idea that he is part of a conspiracy that will rock the very foundations of the kingdom.


THE BONUS CONTENT

He wouldn’t even look up at me.

Standing next to my father, the gray elf slave kept his eyes fixed upon the floor, his forehead crinkled in an expression of distress. He was a pitiful sight, wearing only a tattered loincloth and a thick iron collar connected to a chain that ran to my father’s hand like a leash.

I couldn’t imagine how much Father had spent on this poor fellow. Slaves never came cheap, and the fact that he was a relatively healthy young male suggested that my father had really outdone himself this time.

“Is this really necessary?” I asked as I wiped the fresh blood from my hands onto the front of my apron. “I don’t have time to train someone new. It’s much easier for me to just handle it myself.”

My father scowled. “Holly, we had to turn away four patients this week because we don’t have the bed space. Another set of hands would help get things moving faster. And I don’t have to tell you that faster turnover means we can see more patients, and more patients means more money.”

“And an extra set of hands means another mouth to feed,” I countered. “Does he even speak our language? How am I supposed to teach him anything if we can’t communicate?”

Dad suddenly shoved the chain and a small iron key into my hands. I nearly dropped both of them. “You really think I would buy a slave who couldn’t speak to us? This one cost me a fortune. He better do everything I was promised he could.”

Ah, there it was—my proof. I narrowed my eyes up at my father suspiciously. “You borrowed from my dowry again, didn’t you?”

“When you inherit my practice, you’ll have all the dowry you need.”

That was his way of sloughing me off. Fantastic. My dowry was already pitiful, especially for a doctor’s daughter. And now it would be nothing more than a joke to any prospective suitors. No reasonable man would want to marry a girl with callused hands and not a penny to her name.

With every cent he spent, any chance at a future outside this place was slipping away. Soon I’d have no choice but to stay here, elbow deep in body fluids, working until my back was numb tending to his patients from dawn till dusk. Mother would have been absolutely livid. She’d told me many times that she wanted something better for me.

“I’ve got to make a few house calls this evening,” Father prattled on like there was nothing left to discuss. He started gathering his examination supplies into a big, black leather bag. “You’ll be all right till I return?”

I glanced uneasily at the elven slave anchored to the other end of the chain I was now holding. Good grief. Didn’t my dad have any sense at all? What if this fellow tried to hurt me? What if he tried to escape? There wasn’t a whole lot I could do to stop him in either case.

“Don’t look like that.” Father patted my head like I was still a little girl, which I found less endearing and more patronizing these days. “He’s quite tame. That’s what the broker assured me. He’s worked in a household with children before. He’s got a very calm personality, very healthy. He’ll be a good help to you.”

I nibbled at my bottom lip as I considered the gray elf slave again. He certainly didn’t look threatening. The entire time we talked, he’d kept his head down and his shoulders slumped in total defeat. He’d yet to even raise his gaze to look at me. Not to mention he was absolutely filthy. Every inch of him was smeared in something like silt mud that reeked of rotting swamp water. Even his long silver hair was caked with it. Gods and Fates, he didn’t even have shoes on his feet. What a mess this was going to be.


THE NUMBER

Don’t forget to enter the contest for a chance to win a ton of signed books by Nicole, me, and more! To enter, just know that my favorite number is 28. Add up all the favorite numbers of the authors on the purple team and you’ll have all the secret code to enter for the grand prize!


OOH ANOTHER GIANT GIVEAWAY

In addition to all of the fabulous prizes you can win throughout the hunt, I will also be giving away:

    • a signed advanced copy of WASTE OF SPACE
    • a signed hardcover copy of WAX
    • a signed paperback copy of HELLHOLE
    • three WAX audiobooks from Audible

That’s right, you have SIX more chances to win more awesome stuff. All you have to do to enter is fill out the form below – and get as many bonus entries as you want by following me on Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, Instagram, Snapchat (username: damicog), YouTube, this blog, signing up for my mailing list, or by leaving a comment telling me about your favorite (or least favorite) April Fool’s Day experience. Good luck!

Contest is now over.


WHAT YET ANOTHER GIVEAWAY COME ON NOW

If you pre-order WASTE OF SPACE anytime between now and July 11th, I will give you some delightful swag. Click here for more details.


CONTINUE THE HUNT

To keep going on your quest for the hunt, head over to the website of the next author: Suzanne Lazear!

36 comments

  1. I can’t think of any Aprils Fools that that was either good or bad. I do look forward to see what different companies will do (like google) some of the things they do are so creative!
    thank you for participating in YASH!

  2. Love the YA Scavenger Hunt! My LEAST favorite YA Scavenger Hunt was when my mom took all of the eggs in the fridge and hard-boiled them, and then put them back knowing that I like to make omelets in the morning. I have never been so confused in my life trying to crack 12 eggs and each one exploding in my hand. She also took my toothpaste and squeezed everything out, then replaced it with Marshmallow Fluff. Never brush your teeth with marshmallow fluff people, it’s not fun. I have yet to have been able to get

  3. thankfully, my family was never really into april fool’s so i didnt have any good or bad experiences LOL

  4. I haven’t had any April Fool’s jokes played on me before. I have seen people fake being engaged or pregnant on Facebook but I’ve never seen anything too crazy. Thanks for the bonus chance and for participating in the hunt!

  5. My worst april fool’s day….well someone threw a fake lizard on me and I started jumping around in a public space and then they started laughing like that was the funniest thing ever …like gee..

  6. My parents were married on April 1, and it’s also my wife’s birthday. So, I don’t have any good April Fool’s stories because it’s always been something else for me.

  7. I’ve been lucky that no one has played an April Fool’s joke on me! I would like to keep it that way :)

  8. One of my favorite books is The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen
    My least favorite is Save The Enemy by Arin Greenwood,
    Thanks for the giveaway.

  9. It’s been a long time since I’ve been involved in any April fools pranks but I love the Google Maps PacMan thing.

  10. I’ve never been into pranks, nor has anyone I really know, so I’ve never had anything crazy happen on april fools day. But I love watching youtube videos of people pranking each other (as long as no one gets hurt, cuz that’s not funny)

  11. I’m a fan of a Japanese band called Arashi. And they’ve been together for 15 years now. There’s a blog community dedicated for the band. And one of the moderators announced that the members will make a movie together. Last time that happened was their sixth or seventh anniversary. And when they announced that, i was so confused because the members were so busy… until i read the comments mentioning thatit was an april fools joke….

  12. When they announced a fake DLC for Final Fantasy XV featuring Kenny the Crow, a mascot in the game. That was pretty funny, and Square even made fake photos and an awesome video for the DLC. XD

  13. My friend pranked me by pretending she broke her leg and needed crutches. I was so worried and surprised because the day before she was yelling at her sister for running around getting hurt. Karma lol. However, I’ve never pranked anyone.

  14. I haven’t been pranked on April Fool’s Day and I hope will never fall to any. I did read a lot of posts on FB and twitter but I was not fooled. Some are just so obvious that they were not true.

  15. I think my favorite April Fools Day experience was this year when I got to watch a brand new episode of Rick and Morty, with no advanced warning at all! Awesome surprise!!! Love that Mulan Szechuan McNugget sauce :D

  16. I put enough paper towel in my sister’s room she had to sleep somewhere else that night:P

  17. I think the best April Fool’s Day joke was when my Lit teacher gave us a test to take and we all thought we wouldn’t have to take it because we just knew he was going to play a joke on us, but then after everyone had freaked out and finished taking the test ( we all thought we’d failed) he told it was all an April Fools Joke! It was confusing and stressful for a while, but we were definitely fooled!

  18. Thanks for the chance to win! I am not very good at doing pranks. Need to get better and do something good. My family always does an April Fool’s dinner though. That is fun! A menu with things we have no idea what they are. We would have to eat off the table because we did not order a plate. We could only get ketchup and no food to go with it. It is so fun!

  19. I haven’t participated in any April Fool’s jokes. Thank you for being a part of the YASH!!!!!

  20. I’m excited about YASH every year! And this year the little sheet makes it so much easier to get the numbers! I think there are so many good books this year. 😊

  21. This year, my coworker texted me and told me the project we had JUST finished (due 3/31) wasn’t actually done… I almost cried over breakfast. Thanks for doing a bonus giveaway!

    • I was wondering that too! I really want to read it but I can’t find the actual book? So confused

Comments are closed.