The YAmazing Race with MGnificent Prizes III: The Racening

NOTE: The YAmazing Race is now over. Winners will be announced on the Apocalypsies blog tomorrow, and I will post the winners of my own personal contest here on my own blog tomorrow as well. Thanks to all who raced, and good luck!

It’s that time again! So begins the YAmazing Race with MGnificent Prizes, a massive blog hop featuring over 50 debut authors, and prize packs that include books, gift certificates, swag, and more! If you haven’t yet been to the Apocalypsies website, please click here to start from the beginning and read the complete rules. Now on to the race!

CROAK

Fed up with her wild behavior, sixteen-year-old Lex’s parents ship her off to upstate New York to live with her Uncle Mort for the summer, hoping that a few months of dirty farm work will whip her back into shape. But Uncle Mort’s true occupation is much dirtier than shoveling manure.

He’s a Grim Reaper. And he’s going to teach Lex the family business.

She quickly assimilates into the peculiar world of Croak, a town populated by reapers who deliver souls from this life to the next. But Lex can’t stop her desire for justice—or is it vengeance?—whenever she encounters a murder victim, craving to stop the attackers before they can strike again. Will she stay true to the rules of the Grimsphere, or ditch Croak and go rogue with her reaper skills?

AND NOW AVAILABLE, THE SEQUEL TO CROAK: SCORCH!

Lex is a full-time teenage grim reaper – but now has the bizarre ability to Damn souls. That makes her pretty scary, even to fellow Grims. But now Lex is a pariah in Croak. To escape the townspeople’s wrath, she and her friends embark on a wild road trip to DeMyse. Though this sparkling desert oasis is full of luxuries and amusements, it feels like a prison to Lex. Her best chance at escape would be to stop all the senseless violence that she caused—but how can she do that from DeMyse, where the Grims seem mysteriously oblivious to the bloodshed?

Get your grubby hands on Croak and Scorch today from AmazonBarnes and NobleIndieBound, or your favorite bookstore!

Got all that?
Good, because you’ll need to store it all up in your brain for the quiz ahead. And remember, there are four total quizzes, so for maximum prize winnage opportunities, be sure to fill out all four!

But hold the phone! Another giveaway? WHAT IN THE GOSH DARN HECK?
Enter my contest for a chance to win a copy of Scorch – PLUS a very cool coffin box that I made. With spider webs. It’s pretty cool.

Five lucky runners-up will also receive a Croak prize pack made up of a pendant, bookmark, magnet, and signed bookplate – so enter now! (Giveaway is open internationally.) There is an all-you-can-eat buffet of ways to do so: follow on Twitter, like on Facebook, follow this blog, follow on Pinterest, sign up for my newsletter, or leave a comment below telling me about your worst or best Halloween costume ever. When you’re all done clicking and liking and following, just fill out this little form, and you’ll be entered! (You MUST fill out the form to be entered, otherwise I won’t know what to give you credit for.):

Contest is over – form is closed.

Now what?
Click here for the next stop on the race!

83 comments

  1. Ahhh! Thanks so much for creating another one of these! I had so much fun last year! We don’t really celebrate Halloween in Australia, but my friend recently had his birthday party and made it a costume – Halloween theme – three of us went as the guys from Singin in the Rain – we looked pretty good :D One year someone did a bit of face painting on me to make me into a ghost, it looked pretty craptastic!

  2. All of my Halloween costumes so far have been boring, store-bought costumes. Next year, I want to make something new and original. Not sure what yet.

    On another note, I’m excited to see what costumes the characters wear on The Office this year.

  3. My best costume would have to be just a store bought one. I was an evil court jester love the costume and will probably wear it again this year.

  4. I love the YAmazing Race! And I’d love to get my hands on that coffin box:) I guess if I had to pick a favorite Halloween costume, it would have to be the year I went to a Disco party and dressed up in 70’s stuff.

  5. My most awful Halloween costume was when I decided to dress up like a Tarantula in its web, with the web draped over my shoulders and extra legs on my body. Well, the legs fell off halfway through, the web gave me a rash, and everyone laughed at me.

    LOVE your books:) Thank you so much:)

  6. My best Halloween costume? In hindsight, I would say Snow White when I was five–my aunt made the costume by hand for my older cousin, and it got passed down to me (the second-oldest girl cousin.) At this point, I’m pretty sure all the girls on that side of the family have worn it (there are seven of us!) So that’s pretty cool. As a kid, though, I would have told you the crayon costume I got when the local craft store recruited girl scouts to be in a Halloween fashion show!

  7. I think my best Halloween costume was when I was 4. My great grandmother made me a white princess costume from hand with tiara and magic wand. I was IN LOVE with that dress and still think the pictures are adorable. I think home made costumes are the best!

  8. Best Halloween costume was when I dressed up as Little Red Riding Hood, my friends and I each chose a fairy tale heroine that year. This was done our Junior year and the photo from the dance ended up in the yearbook! :)

  9. My best Halloween costume was when I was Dorothy from The Wizard of Oz. I even had sparkly sequined ruby slippers. I loved those shoes!

  10. Hmm my best Halloween costume would probably be my Snow White costume when I was a kid…I literally wore it like 3 years in a row. Then as punishment (not really) my parents said I couldn’t wear it anymore and I got stuck with my worst costume ever….a cell phone. Yep! I got to walk around a giant cell phone, equipped with a ringer any everything. The only good thing about it was my face was covered so no one knew it was me.

  11. We really don’t celebrate Halloween here in the Philippines the way other countries do, but I was employed in an American company for a time and we had trick or treat for employee’s children. My favourite was the kid pretending to be a zombie. All wrapped in tissue paper. I wish I also had that kind of experience back when I was a kid!

  12. My halloween costume I made and wore last year was the best and the worst ever! I tend to crossdress on Halloween bc the books/movies/video games characters I like have male’s dressed up in cool clothes! The females do have interesting get ups but they are often revealing and I do not want to tramatize my little bro when I take him trick or treating. A
    Anyways last year I dressed up as Howl from Hayao miyazaki’s Howl’s Moving Castle. (Based on the book by Diana Wayne Jones!) I LOVED the book and movie! So I made the outfit howl wears throughout the movie. My hair was similar in lenth and color so it was pretty good costume. (I wore it to an aime con and peeps went nuts trying to take pics w.me!) As I was taking my bro trick or treating everyone kept asking me who I was. When I told them most would ask me if I was cross dressing and then gave me strange looks.
    The people in the nieborhood who did reconized me loved it. But alas my family was also confused and kept asking me why I would cross dress. Which them turned into asking if I am a lesbian or trans gendered. ‘_’
    Anyways it was the BEST bc of how real and good it looked! :D The WORST because not many recongized who I was/my family decided to have an intervention for me. :P
    I kept the costume and im def gonna wear it again! :D This year Im think I will go as Link from Zelda; his outfit is super easy to make!

  13. My all time favorite Halloween costume was being a dalmatian when I was a kid and my Mom dressed up as Cruella Deville to take me out trick or treating. I got to help glue the felt fabric spots on my costume too which made it even more fun.

  14. Worst Halloween costume would have to have been my crappy last minute Harley Quinn, face and hair was good but a black tank top with red under armor and leggings and a TuTu just didn’t cut it in my mind lol.

  15. One year, I had no idea what to be so on the day of I just threw on a tutu and crazy makeup and said that I was a mental patient. The costume sucked ass!

  16. My favorite… I think it is when I was an Avatar. You know the blue ones from the movie. It was really fun painting myself all blue and making pretty little braids my hair. :)

  17. Yeah, it’s normally store bought for me too! One year I did go as a “little kid”, I word pink pajamas with moons and clouds on them, carried a pumpkin pail, teddy bear and wore my hair in pigtails! It was probably the cheapest costume I ever wore!

  18. Thanks for this great giveaway. My favourite Halloween costume was when I was about 11 and I dressed up as Morticia Addams from the Addams family. My little sister was only about 6 at the time and we dressed her up as Uncle Fester with one of those bald caps-she looked really funny with her chubby little cheeks.

  19. One of my favorite costumes would have to have been the year I dressed up as the Gonzo. I know weird costume for a little girl, but my aunt had made it and it was an absolutely gorgeous and very detailed. One of my sisters was Miss Piggy, and another was Kermit. =)

  20. My favorite Halloween costume was first grade I was an army private. No one knew who I was, they all thought I was a boy, and I won a prize.

  21. I was just an 80’s zombie Saturday night. I really liked it, and I got to use my crimper from when I was a kid. It took 1 hour to crimp my hair, but it was worth it.

  22. I am going to be original this year, and my halloween costume is going to be simple. I am marking my arms and neck and possibly face with tally marks. If you know what the hell I’m talking about you’re awesome.

  23. my best Halloween costume was when i was like 6 or 7 and i was a clown, i had the nose, my face painted, everything.

  24. Hmm…
    I have to say that my pink princess outfit when I was little. I wore it some many times when it wasn’t halloween!!

  25. I have ALWAYS made my own Halloween costumes (or my grandma made them, considering the days when I was *cough**cough* a little girl) but my favorite costume was my hobo costume!
    Complete with torn up jeans, an over-sized plaid shirt, “hobo gloves”, dirt streaked face, a bad hair day, and a hobo sack!!!(that’s where I kept my candy!)
    It was a pretty awesome costume! But the fun part was that I actually pretended to be a hobo, asking for “Spare Change” instead of saying “Trick or Treat”. One person actually gave me spare change!!! XD
    Anyway… THANKS FOR THE GIVEAWAY!!!

  26. my best halloween costume would have been being a female version Luigi from the super mario brothers with my best friend. It was so much fun.

  27. I think my best halloween costume would be the one when I was dressed up has Lady Liberty, my mom made my whole costume and to me it was super cute :) I had the bookish thing and the torch to go with it, and a crown haha :) thanks for the giveaway !!

  28. My best costume was actually for a college class. I took an entymology class for an elective, and our final exam was to dress up as an insect and make an anatomically correct cake. I was a black widow spider.

  29. Best Halloween Costume? Mmm that’s a tough we really don’t get to do that here, but I remember once I dress up as a character from Pokemon, LOL! It was really fun!

  30. We don’t celebrate Halloween here I live, so no favorite costume for me, but I would dress up as a zombie or a reaper :D

  31. My best Halloween costume…well, my favorite one was my Emo Rockstar outfit (b/c that’s a scary thought, right?) — I also loved being Edna Mode from The Incredibles.

  32. My favorite Halloween costume was when I was four years old. I was a ‘Little Red Riding Hood’. Actually I don’t remember it but I have photos and they are my favorites.

  33. The best Halloween costume I ever had was dressing up as Dangermouse when I was in 3rd grade. My mom did a great job of creating the outfit.

  34. Worst or best Halloween costume ever?
    Worst:
    When I was a kid I have a mouse costume – small, light grey with bright pink ears and long, thin tail. I looked like a toy.Yes, I was definitely not scary, rather terribly funny ;))
    Best:
    Now, I want to be Alice in Wonderland from Alice Madness Returns – you know, blood, knife and stuff ;))

  35. My best and worst costume was dressing up as myself. I thought it was the best because it didn’t require any work or create chaos (at the last minutes “what am I going to wear?) But my neighbors hated it. Some of them even refused to give me candy. I never thought people would get mad at me for trying to be myself…

  36. Great to see you participating in another YAmazing Race! My Teen Book Club is reading Croak for our November book. I hope they like it as much as I am.

    My favorite Halloween costume so far has been Princess Peach. My worst is probably when I was in grade school and hated dressing up so every year I dressed like my normal self and said I was an undercover FBI agent on assignment as a grade school student.

  37. we don’t really celebrate halloween in the uk…but I’d really like to be red riding hood. makes me thinking about throwing a halloween party…:))

  38. Because my name is Jack and i have the imagination of a fridge i had an amazing Jack Skellington costume one fair Halloween :D Stilts and all! I don’t think i have ever been given so many free sweets in my life.

  39. My best Halloween costume was back in highschool when I dressed up as a Swedish yodeler, pigtails and all that :D Though, nobody understood what the costume was about – my friends kept saying I was Heidi :D

  40. My best Halloween costume was an accidental one where me and my boyfriend literally last minute bought a prisoner and cop costume. We were the only people who seemed comfortable at the party and looked good doing it. Plus I have awesome pajamas now.
    Worst, I dressed up as my DND character while I was still in high school. Not only did I have to explain my character, but also what DND was to most people.

  41. I typically go as a zombie. Really unique, I know.
    For a Halloween party, the boyfriend and were going to go as Zoe and Bill from the Left 4 Dead video game :) But…I got sick :(

  42. Worst halloween costume was probably when I dressed up as a witch in fifth grade and I couldn’t move in my supposed costume… that was fun. Add in the fact that my hat blew away, resulting in a look that belonged more to a maid in a frumpy black cloak than a witch.

  43. Thanks for the giveaway!

    Now, I’ve only ever dressed up for Halloween once, since we don’t have Halloween in my country. However, last year I was abroad as an exchange student in Los Angeles, so I finally had the chance to experience Halloween firsthand. I dressed up as a light angel, complete with wings and everything, and my costume matched my friends’, who were dressed up as a dark angel (:

  44. An angel. Yep. My ex-boyfriend was the white angel (really cool, actually, with white contacts and completely white hair plus white wings) and I was the dark angel (black wings, black contacts, red lips and a long kind of creepy and mysterious black dress). I had soooo much fun! :D

    Thanks for the chance!

  45. My fave Halloween costume would be either my Slytherin outfit or my Emma PIlsbury (from Glee) one :) Unfortunately the party I went to didn’t have many Glee fans so the details of the costume were lost on most of the partygoers :P

  46. I don’t dress up too much, but I think my best was when I was 8, I dressed as a gypsy! My mom made my costume (flowy skirt and all!), and I remember feeling so awesome and original in it. Plus, I lived overseas in a small Military community at the time, and where we could get costumes was very limited so a lot of kids always had the same costumes as others. Made me feel double-y special!

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  47. I’m predictable … every year, I go as a black cat – Meow!!
    I follow you everywhere ;) And you always have THE BEST prizes!! *grabby hands* Thanks soo much for the bonus giveaway and your participation in the YAmazing races!

Leave a Reply

